New Zealand — Immigration New Zealand Student fund requirements
Citation
Immigration New Zealand. “Student fund requirements.” Accessed 2026-07-15. Original page.
Authority and scope
Immigration New Zealand is the government visa authority. This page explains student-visa living-cost, outward-travel, funding-source, and evidence requirements.
Original summary
The page says tertiary, English-language, and other non-compulsory students must show NZD1,667 for each month when study is shorter than a year. For school years 1–13, it shows NZD1,417 per month. It separately requires proof of outward travel or money to buy a ticket, and additional maternity-care funds where applicable. Funds must come from a verifiable source and be genuinely available, potentially through the applicant, an acceptable sponsor, or a guarantor or third party.
Consequential claims supported
- Claim: The displayed tertiary or other non-compulsory-study living-cost requirement was NZD1,667 per month for shorter study.
- Jurisdiction: New Zealand
- Applicable date: Not stated on page; observed 2026-07-15
- Accessed: 2026-07-15
- Limitations: Amounts and category definitions can change; verify the live page immediately before applying.
- Claim: Applicants must also prove outward-travel capacity, and funds must be verifiable and genuinely available.
- Jurisdiction: New Zealand
- Applicable date: Not stated on page
- Accessed: 2026-07-15
- Limitations: Acceptable evidence depends on the funding arrangement and applicant circumstances.
Limitations
This page does not by itself determine visa eligibility or evidence sufficiency. It distinguishes study levels and includes rules for prepaid accommodation, sponsorship, guarantors, third parties, and maternity costs that require applicant-specific review. No clear modification or effective date was exposed.
Rights and preservation note
link-summary-only is used because republication rights were not assessed. No full source body or media was copied.